Usability Views Article Details
 home | timeline | recent | popular | e-reports | userati | books | about 

The Four-Domain Architecture: An approach to support enterprise architecture design (19 Sep 2004)
Process domain. This domain includes the processes, procedures, business tools, tasks that encode business rules, and dependencies required to support the various functions within a business. It includes the applications needed at the levels of operations, management control, and strategic planning. For example, this domain may include recurrent tasks or routines19,20 that encode design rules and principles. These may come in the form of communication channels, both formal and informal, or in the form of information filters and strategies.21

Information/knowledge domain. This domain includes business rules and business data and information of all types, their usage, interrelationships and demographics, as well as their definitions, ownership, distribution, and composition. Meta-data, system data, and operational data are also included within this domain.

Infrastructure domain. This domain includes hardware and facilities, system software, data storage resources, networks and communications, human interfaces, and other underlying technologies. It is the platform that supports the activities and interfaces of the other domains.

Organization domain. This domain includes business people and their roles and responsibilities, organizational structures and boundaries, as well as their interrelationships to alliances, partnerships, customers, suppliers, and other stakeholders in the enterprise.
Article URL:

Read 201 more articles from IBM sorted by date, popularity, or title.
Next Article: The role of ontologies in autonomic computing systems
 RSS 0.91 Subscribe with Bloglines Add to My Yahoo!
Some of the people who make up the Userati group
This site is a labour of love built by Chris McEvoy